Appointments Today

Haddie Joy weighed in at 6lbs 10 0z.  Yippee!!  That is over an ounce a day since her last visit.  He said he didn’t need to see her back until January! 

She also has something he thought was probably tracheomalacia.

“Tracheomalacia in a newborn occurs when the cartilage in the windpipe (trachea) has not developed properly. Instead of being rigid, the walls of the trachea are floppy. Because the windpipe is the main airway, breathing difficulties begin soon after birth.

Congenital tracheomalacia is very uncommon.

Most infants respond well to humidified air, careful feedings, and antibiotics for infections. Babies with tracheomalacia must be closely monitored when they have respiratory infections.

Often, the symptoms of tracheomalacia improve as the infant grows.” 

Taken from:  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/001084.htm

He also said to keep her from crowds until April – AHHH!!!  I like crowds, so this news was a bit disheartening.   I guess sickness can be especially a problem with the tracheomalacia, and he mentioned a common cold for an adult can be a really serious case of RSV for a newborn.  Also without knowing about the MCAD, which also makes sickness’ which cause dehydration particular dangerous, we can’t be too cautious.  So at this point, I suppose my goals for bringing her to church on Christmas weekend is probably out of the question.  I’ll have to show off her sweet little Christmas outfits via the internet this year. 

It was a good morning.  She even got a photo op with her favorite Doctor……

Haddie with Dr. Dobay

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Appointments Today

  1. Nancy says:

    Ahhh, so THAT’s why she’s such a noisy eater! Candace might be able to give you some tips, she deals with airway/swallowing kind of stuff as a speech therapist.

    SO glad to hear about her weight gain. All of your hard work has been well worth it. Keep up the good work!

    Love you all!

  2. Rachel H. says:

    Hey Uncle Pete and Aunt Brooke :),
    It’s great to now Haddie Joy is gaining, And thriving! I’m not sure of the details of Haddie Joy’s hips, but I just wanted to give you a little tid bit about me and my hips……. Did you know that when I was a baby some docs wanted to take both my legs off at the hips and reconnect them the “right” way. As you know mom and dad obviously didn’t let that happen. I don’t really know all the medical details of it, but I can tell you what I deal with. As a kid i remember sometimes having hip pains. But, once I started riding horses alot (I’m talking just about everyday) the pain went away. My doc says that really helped to prolong the inevitability of hip replacements. Since I hardly ever 😦 get to ride, I have had a lot of issues. When I would carry the kids when they were babies, my hips would just ache. When it’s below freezing it hurts (like pain radiating all the way down to my knee). When I over extend my hip (like climbing through a fence or something like that) I get a “kink”. When I climb upstairs it clicks. But even though I have these “issues” my quality of life is not lessened! God has held my hips together this long (and let me tell you it’s not like I was easy on them with the sports I chose to do! ) WHEN I can’t stand the pain any longer and Have to have them replaced, He will be with me through that too! So, I guess what I’m trying to say is have heart… even if Haddie Joy does have issues or problems, she can still have a full active life!
    Love you all lots and can’t wait to meet Haddie Joy in person ❤

Leave a Reply

