Medical Update

Wednesday the 20th we went to Nashville for our routine visit.  On the way, Peter and I were a little whiny.  We are tired of driving to Nashville.  As I type this I’m a little embarrassed by it.  I think of those who wearily have set out time and time again for chemo treatments or hospital visits to Music City without complaining.  I’m not them, but I look up to them.  And maybe one day I’ll be more like those kind of people.

Regardless, we had a great visit.  I guess God just knew what we needed that day.  We went in and sweet Dawn was our ultra sound tech.  Oh how I love Dawn.  As Hadassah Joy flipped and flopped she laughed and joked with us about her nature.  That is the best.  Those of you who have patiently listened to me talk about Hadassah and smiled, thank you.  It ministers to my heart so very much.

I timidly asked if they did 3D ultrasounds.  Dawn said, usually, this late in the pregnancy, they don’t because the baby is growing so much they run out of room and can’t get very good images.  I played it cool, but I was so disappointed.  I really wanted to see a few, but even Peter and myself with our untrained eyes can see that it gets a bit harder to make out certain body parts as she’s grown.  Some parts are easier to identify, like the kidneys, but the general overall “seeing” Haddie Joy, gets a bit harder each time.

As Dawn moved around the magic wand in the pile of gunk on my belly and measured I lay there without many expectations.  Two weeks prior to this, our visit (which I failed to blog about) was a little of a let down.  Our ultrasound technician, who was young and fresh out of school, voiced she thought Haddie Joy’s cystic hygroma looked smaller, which is something I had also thought, looking for myself.  But, Dr. Collins wasn’t willing to go as far as saying that 4 weeks ago.  When Dawn mentioned something to this effect we explained what Dr. Collins had said the visit prior and that it was probably Haddie Joy just “growing into it” rather than the hygroma actually shrinking.  Instead we focused on enjoying sweet Haddie Joy.  She shared with us that her long bones are still six weeks behind, but other than that we have a 5 lb little Hadassah Joy, with a normal sized abdomen and head.   We had just about finished up when Dawn said, “Let’s see if we can get a few 4D’s.”

I was a little taken aback with surprise.  She explained that we might not get good images because Haddie Joy was so far along, often times you get nothing but distortions.  At this point I’m scared to say anything because I don’t want to distract Dawn from getting these 4D’s.

Then the fun started.  Dawn saw her before we did and began exclaiming how cute she was, giggling, “ooh”-ing and “ah”-ing over her.

Then I saw her.

There she was wiggling, a little unsettled, until finally she rested her sweet cheek on her arm to sleep.  This absolutely made Dawn go wild…okay, so she stayed pretty calm, but it was pretty darn cute.

I glanced over at Peter, who had suddenly come alive with amusement.  He saw her too.  I think we were both a little nervous until she explained a little more of what we were seeing.  She was moving enough to distort the pictures, Dawn explained,  so she had to work quickly to snap a few good ones.

We were elated.  She is so perfect.  A beautiful creation, made in the very image of God.  I love that.  I will post the pictures as soon as I can get them scanned as a file that will work with wordpress, we don’t have a scanner here at the house, so it takes a little time.

We then waited excitedly for Dr. Collins since we had beautiful new pictures to stare at.  We didn’t have to wait long.  He came in and shared with us some things he called “worthy of mention”.  Haddie Joy doesn’t appear to have as much fluid on her heart as before.  He also said her cystic hygroma was “less pronounced”.  I think the “fresh out of school” technician we had last visit has a wonderful career ahead of her, don’t you?

This was very exciting obviously.  He continued that he was encouraged to watch how, over time, she seems to be adapting to her set backs.  Something is causing the problems though, and that is what keeps him from assuring us that her chances of survival have increased.  Without knowing what is causing the problems, he just can’t say for sure.  But he did say that there is a good chance she could live longer than what was originally expected.  He is pretty up front with the fact that he just does not know, which we are totally okay with.

We talked more about plans for her arrival.  The tentative plan is that I will be induced my 38th week, which is the second week of November.  Probably on a Thursday (tentatively the 18th), since that is the day Dr. Collins is at the hospital.

We are naturally getting very excited and geared up for her sweet entrance.  Well, to be completely honest, we are nervous.  Please pray that we might rest in His peace and focus these next few weeks practicing the presence of Christ right where we are, not allowing the distractions of this world to choke out what He desires for us at this time.  I am getting excited and frankly, I’m a little ADHD, not always a good combination!  So pray that even in my excitement I might be able to relax enough to enjoy what God is doing so perfectly.  Many of you are saying you are expecting a miracle.  I am too.  I still don’t know what form that will take place in, but it is surely going to happen.  The choir used to sing a song with the lines, “He is good.  All the time.  All the time.  He is good.”  I’ve found myself singing that over and over.  No matter what happens, God is good – all of the time, and nothing changes that.

Praise Him with me for doing unexpected things in Haddie Joy’s life.  And believe Him for doing the same in yours!  I love you all and thank you for your continued prayer support.  Peter and I are always so blessed by it and I think the past months have been a blessing because of your thoughtful sacrifices to be used by God in such a powerful way.

This entry was posted in The Medical Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Medical Update

  1. I am rejoicing with you and bawling at the same time for this wonderful news!

    She was chosen Brooke–for whatever reason!

    I can’t wait to see you and give you the gift that I have finally finished for sweet Hadassah Joy! It is so fitting for this season–everyone involved 🙂

    ((hugs)) to you my sweet friend.

    Always praying fervently for you and Peter and the kids

  2. Paula says:

    Always in our thoughts and prayers. You and Peter inspire me beyond words. I pray God’s peaceful loving reassurance in the days to come. We are all brought into this world for a reason and when our time is finished we leave this world for a reason. It is the love and joy between those times we cherish. So cherish your little one and love what God has placed in your tender loving care.

    Oh- I whine about traveling to Nashville too!!! I hate the drive, the traffic, the doctor, everything! I am NOT a big city person.

    • Thank you Paula – your thoughts always encourage me so much. Be careful not to give credit to Peter or me…we certainly fail…often! But God is good, isn’t He?
      ps – glad to know I’m not the only “whiner” LOL

  3. Dawn Oaks says:

    Dear Brooke and Peter,

    This past week was a really tough one for our family as I travelled to NY for the funeral of my sister-in-law. She was very healthy a month ago and is now dancing in the arms of Jesus. I know that this may not seem like it relates to your journey with your precious daughter, but while at her funeral you were very much on my mind.

    My 20 year old nephew was asked to share his memories from growing up with my sister-in-law (his aunt). They were very close and his comments were very touching. I wept even greater at the reality of the situation when his closed his comments that 12 years ago in the same church he was her ringbearer and now he is her pallbearer. My thoughts went to you and little Haddie Joy.

    You see when my other sister-in-law was carrying Richard they had multiple test results come back stating that he would have spina bifida, severe mental retardation, the possibility of malformed organs, etc. The doctors urged my brother and sister-in-law to consider abortion. They refused the abortion and also any further tests. They had their struggles through the remainder of her pregnancy with fears of the unknown that the future held, but never waivered in believing that this special life was given to them for a purpose. When Richard was born, his only struggle was a broken collarbone from a difficult delivery. He is a sophomore at the local community college and plays for a AAA baseball team.

    I have no idea what God is about to do in and through Haddie Joy, but I do know that it will not be an accident and will be used by God in your lives and those that are witnessing your journey. My prayers will continue to be with you in all things as I hope yours will continue with our family as we adjust to Stacey’s transition to heaven and the emptiness that are earthly bodies are feeling by her absence.

    I love you and rejoice in all that God is accomplishing in your lives,
    Dawn

  4. Missy Outland says:

    I will sing Praises to the Lord for He is able! I am praising the Lord for the blessings he has already given you with this precious girl! We are praying for you in these last weeks…that the Lord would give you a sweet peace that can only come from the Prince of peace and that he would continue to hold and sustain that precious baby and touch her in a miraculous way! He is an Almighty and Powerful Abba father. I pray that we continue to see his hand in your womb!

  5. Nancy says:

    Oh, I can’t wait to see the 4D pictures of sweet Haddie! It’s so wild to think that she’s 5 lbs. already. It seems like your pregnancy has gone by so quickly. That is one loved and well-prayed for little girl that you’re carrying. Thanks for sharing so much of your journey with all of us. We’ll keep up the prayers, specifically for you to be able to keep your focus “in the moment” with Christ. I can understand how easy it is to get scattered and miss out on what’s doing. I know that I struggle with that sometimes too, but oh, how I love to watch God at work. It’s been a blessing to be on this journey with you.

    Love you all!
    ~Nancy

    • Hasn’t it gone by quickly? Wild. They called yesterday to confirm the 18th for the induction. Praise God for His peace…I wasn’t sure I was going to make it a few days ago I was so eaten up with nervousness, but I can tell ya’ll are praying!
      I can not express my gratitude accurately for all you’ve done Nancy. Helping me with the blog, loving my sweet baby, praying – you challenge me to be more caring. I love you and thank God for you!

  6. Beth says:

    I type this with chills all over my body and tears of JOY in my eyes….
    Thanks so much for the update. I am so happy to hear the things Dr. Collins had to say. I can’t believe she will be here very soon! Thank you for being such a blessing and wonderful example!

  7. Rachel says:

    Hey Uncle Pete and Aunt Brooke,
    I just wanted to let you know that even though I don’t call and keep up with you like I should, you are constantly in my prayers. There are many times where you all have popped into my head and I just feel the need to pray for you. I think this is God’s way of reminding me to pray for you. Bill and I feel very blessed to have you as family and are excitedly waiting little Haddie Joy’s arrival! Oh, almost forgot, be expecting a box this next week (I wish I could hand deliver it, but it just isn’t going to happen 😦 I love you all and miss you greatly!
    Lots of Love,
    Rachel ❤

    • Thanks to all of you sharing this journey with me! You have no idea how it has ministered to both Peter and I. Just waking up and reading e-mails have become such a blessing, because I know somebody is going to encourage me a great deal. Thank you guys so much for loving Haddie Joy and me and my family. Sorry I haven’t been on the computer as much lately and I haven’t had a chance to respond to each of you, but please know I’m gleaning from your examples and Christ is using each one of YOU. You are all simply amazing.

    • Yipee! A box 🙂 Does this have anything to do with those strange questions in the summer? LOL You are a wonderful niece!! We love you guys and appreciate you so much.

  8. Angel says:

    Oh Brooke, as I read the latest update on Hadassah Joy…. I just can’t hold back tears of JOY! You are right, God is SO GOOD! He says that He will do great things through us if we have great faith in Him. He is definitely doing a great work through you guys and Hadassah. I love you guys soo much! I just want to go and yet again “scream it from the rooftops” that our God is GOOD! Even though it’s not certain what the future may hold for (BIG ;)~)Hadassah Joy….I know that she is His child, and He will protect her. God says, For truly, I say to you, if you have faith like a grain of mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move, and nothing will be impossible for you.” Mat. 17:20… You are moving that mountain Brooke….and your faith inspires me to do what Proverbs commands me to do…Pro 3:5 Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
    Pro 3:6 In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.
    Thank you God, for your unchanging Truth….Thank you Brooke for allowing God to use you. I love you.

    Angel

Leave a Reply

