Random Life Update

I feel like we’ve entered the home stretch.  I will be 34 weeks tomorrow.  I can’t believe the time is approaching so quickly.  Things are really getting exciting around here.  The past week and a half was full of appointments, field trips and planning for Haddie Joy, not to mention our regular routine of school work, grocery shopping, etc.

Last Thursday Shaylea and I were able to babysit sweet Elizabeth Mercy for the first time.  How sweet to be able to hold her and just stare. 

I mean, who doesn’t want to stare at this…..

 I’m so thankful for my brother and his family being just down the road.  It has been so much fun and truly a blessing to us during this time.  Sharing meals and life with them has been something only God could have known we were going to need.

Monday, Shaylea and I went to Target with a few great friends, Brandie & Amanda.  We spent the morning registering for baby items and then Brandi treated us to Olive Garden.  YUM!!  This is the only picture I snapped all day…shame on me!! 

Mandi & Shaylea

I don’t know what I would do without Shaylea.  Her excitement for sweet Haddie Joy overflows to me on the worst days.  I can’t help but be elated.  She is such a great big sister already.  She has also been such a servant to me.  She is so gentle and caring with me.  She talks daily to my belly, because that is just what good big sisters do.  She joined in the fun and bought the cute hat you see above.  She’s quite the shopper…right Mandi?  

We then traipsed back to Hopkinsville to register at Walmart.  It was loads of fun, totally worth the swollen ankles!  I went to bed that night feeling so thankful.  I truly have the best friends.  God has provided in so many ways these past months and this day was no exception.  My sweet friends are patient and kind with me and so loving.  I just feel overwhelmed by their goodness, by the Jesus I feel and see in them.  What more could I ask or long for?

Often in the past few weeks I’ve allowed myself to be overwhelmed by the responsiblity I feel to be prepared for Hadassah Joy and what her life may bring.  I’ve neglected time with God for my “to do” list.  I’ve allowed the weight of life to cloud my view of Christ and what He can and will do, if I would just secede.  It’s just like our Jesus to meet us where we are, isn’t it?  Just walking in a parking lot, forgetting I have a Savior who carries it all, and…..He puts things in my life-like this….

..and He reminds me of where He is. 

He’s in the clouds.

He made them, ya know. 

“For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”   Matt.11:30

 Nice.  God’s got it.  I don’t have to.  *Sighs*

I read a facebook status this morning and it was something to this effect,

“I get so overwhelmed by life, then there I will be, reading His word, and I’ll remember there is absolutely nothing I have to do in this life besides bringing Him glory.”

Why, oh why do I forsake time with Him  for worry, stress and the like? 

Sometimes we make following Jesus a little harder than it really is.

This entry was posted in General Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random Life Update

  1. pam says:

    somehow I forgot how I knew of your blog. Then I saw the picture of amanda and thought WAIT is that amanda. too funny. Praying for you and your family and for this blessing you are carrying

  2. Jeri Ginn says:

    Love you Brooke- praying for your family daily.

Leave a Reply

