The Mountain Valley

Is it incredibly delusional of me to consider this journey a mountain top experience?  There have been ups and downs, but carrying Haddie Joy these past months and reflecting upon what God has done in my heart, and my husbands through her life, I find my lips breathing,

“What is man that You are mindful of him,

And the son of man that You visit him?”

I’ve referred to this time as a valley, and it has felt like that.  But there are these moments, even in the worst of it, that I’ve experienced extreme happiness.  The Lord has visited us.  He has answered prayer, over and over again.  Who am I, who are we, to deserve such love, such compassion and kindness?  Nobody, that’s who.  We’re nothing special, yet treasured.  Seriously, do we get this?  It is His desire to lavish His love on us.  I believe that is what He meant by the “abundant life” in John 10:10.  To walk in the midst of life – through sunshine, rain and even through fire – with Him.

A good friend reminded me of His amazing words just a few weeks ago.  They are so true.  I revel in the goodness of God when I read and believe them.

Through the Lord’s mercies we are not consumed,

Because His compassions fail not,

They are new every morning

Great is Your faithfulness.”

“The Lord is my portion, ” says my soul.

“Therefore I hope in Him!Lamentations 3:22-24

The Mountain Valley

Tears overwhelming, too numerous to count

Though, in this valley place, there remains no doubt

The Lord – HE IS GOD – He remains the same

Bringing to remembrance the reason for His fame

In His bosom I cling like a headwind to sails

and rejoice in His truth, for His love never fails

The valley, as the sea, begins to rise and fall

Awed I stand and wonder how it is I’m so tall

Meditating, reflecting – It’s here I meet God

and soon I realize I’m not standing on sod

I stand on His promises, too numerous to count

On this mountain top, there is no doubt

the Lord – HE IS GOD – yesterday and today

and tomorrow, rest assured, He will still be the Way

I marvel, I wonder, I praise and I sing

What joy to be here,  with Him – my King.

This entry was posted in Relating with my Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Mountain Valley

  1. Rachel says:

    honestly Brooke… Wow!! I am soo happy for you that you all are seeing so clearly. You have your sad days or moments, but you don’t dwell on them, you dwell on Him! I think your statement on abundant life is right on, it goes right with ” and where you treasure is, there will your heart be also” Matthew 6:21 AND Luke 12:34. I never realized it was in both Matthew and Luke!! But doesn’t that just emphasize that God isn’t talking about an abundantly rich material life, he’s talking about an abundant life of peace in HIM!!

Leave a Reply

