God is My Friend

After we shared our testimony at church a woman in the congregation sent me an e-mail with a link to a web-site.  It was the blog of Angie Smith, wife of Todd Smith from the Christian group, Selah.  I was so thankful as I read through her blog and was reminded that God can use anything and everything in our life for good.

Reading them helped me to grieve in some ways in which I hadn’t let myself.  I decided to order her book,  I Will Carry You and I’m so glad I did.  As I’ve been reading I’ve come across a lot of practical preparation which may be necessary in the future and I hadn’t even thought of.  I’ve been mindful of the children’s grieving processes, but honestly in a bit of a selfish way.  Hearing how Todd and Angie comforted their children, although they were much younger than ours, gave me some ideas that are helping me be more in tune with their emotions as I try to balance between my own and guiding them through theirs, as well as just being there for them as they handle it all so differently.

At any rate I was in the church parking lot this morning, painting my toe nails.  (I often do this since it’s when I’m getting dressed that I remember they need a fresh coat.)  Everyone else was already heading inside.  A sweet lady in the Lord came up to the window with a brightly colored gift bag in her hand.  She said, “This might seem strange, but I wanted to give you something.  Have you ever heard of Selah?”

Isn’t God good?

“Yes,” I replied in amazement, “I’m reading a blog written by one of the singer’s wives and I ordered the book and have been reading it too.”

“Do you have the CD?”

“No, I don’t”

She proceeded to tell me about a week before we shared at church she watched a special T.V. program in which the Smiths shared their story.  After she heard ours she said she really felt led to get the CD for us.

I’ve been overwhelmed by the prayer support and kind words that we’ve received.  This was no exception.  I have felt so loved by God through His body of believers.  I truly don’t understand how people go through tough situations apart from hoping in Christ.  To think that God used this amazing lady to minister to little old me…..He just floors me over and over again.  It is truly a miracle to know the One and Only True God as Lord of my life.

She left and I finished up my toe nails.  I popped the CD in.  The bonus track was written by Angie and Todd Smith during her pregnancy.  The track wasn’t originally planned to be on the CD, but because  a cord wasn’t plugged in correctly it was.  And I listened.  And I cried.  And I thought about God.  Angie and Todd’s story has been such a comfort to me during this difficult time.  And now I sat listening to this beautiful song and thought it was a so-called mistake I was hearing it at all.  It wasn’t even supposed to be on the CD.  But I don’t believe that.  Because I believe in the sovereignty of our Creator and King.

He knew what I would need before the foundations of the earth.  He knew what Angie and Todd would need.  He knows what you need.

I walked into church with a smile, it’s no wonder why.  And I thoroughly enjoyed the sermon about how God is our friend.  I think He had already proved that to me, don’t you?

This entry was posted in Relating with my Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to God is My Friend

  1. As I sit here reading all these posts Brooke, I know you guys are hurting and struggling and trusting. Your faith and the way you speak about God during this just speaks volumes to me.

    I am praying for you my friend. If you need anything at all, please don’t hesitate to call. I am only minutes away 🙂

  2. Melissa says:

    I have been glued to every post from start to finish this morning. My heart aches for you, yet is filled with joy at your honest faith. I think your life and your story affects others more than you know. I can see God at work. Know that you are in my prayers and that you can call me any time!

  3. Thank you Jennifer & Melissa 🙂
    Your comments have encouraged me a great deal.

  4. Shelley says:

    I read your blog first thing Monday morning after arriving at work. Mom & Dad had shared a little with us while they were in Indiana at the end of July — but I did not fully understand everything that was going on until reading your blog. Thank you for taking the time to do this in midst of everything. I found myself wishing you were sitting in my office so I could ask more questions and give you a big hug. I listen to many people share heartache, worries, concerns, thanksgivings and joys in my office but never one so close our hearts.

    I have to tell you I am so impressed with your honesty with everyone reading your blog but even more so with your honesty with God. It is my firm belief that prayer is ‘brutal honesty with God’ and you have shown us a fine example of this brutal honesty. Since November 11 of last year (when Tom had his little adventure to the cardiac unit) I have been struggling in my spiritual life…my faith remains, yet somehow it is numb and prayer has been rote at best. I have so much to be grateful for but still I feel disconnected, untethered. Your sharing has somehow pulled me back into the stream…an important visual for me during prayer…..and i must thank you for that.

    Our hearts ache for you and Peter and the kids as you await the outcome of this challenge. Please know you remain in our thoughts and prayers. I have also included you on the prayer list at our church. Whatever the outcome, I know God is with you through each and every step.

    Peace be with you always. Love ~shelley

  5. Dawn Oaks says:

    Brooke,
    When you first contacted me about your pregnancy, we talked about how each life is created by God for a purpose and how great God’s grace is to cover over so much in our lives. As I see your testimony and faith in your blog entries, it is a sign of just how anointed with His spirit and grace you are.

    I have prayed often for you during the last few months with no idea until tonight of what has been going on. Please know that these prayers will continue for as His Word says, “He who began a good work in you will see it through to its completion.” I have never met you face to face, but love you just the same.

    Continuing in prayer!!!

  6. Oh thank you Shelley. It is so overwhelming to know people are praying all over the country for us. I feel so undeserving of it all. We are praying for you as well, and everyone else who is remembering us right now. Love you guys 🙂 Brooke

Leave a Reply

